Press room

Here you will find our latest press releases, logos, pictures and bios of the latest Laureates, a selection of articles about the Polar Music Prize and press contacts.

The Laureates of 2022 are Iggy Pop and Ensemble intercontemporain.

Please note that we use a new logo since January 2021. You can download it further down on this page.

Latest press releases

The Polar Music Prize ceremony 2022

Stockholm, Sweden - Tues 24 May 2022: Iggy Pop, born James Newell Osterberg and the Ensemble intercontemporain were today presented with the 2022 Polar Music Prize at a gala prize ceremony held in Stockholm, Sweden. In addition, Diane Warren received the 2020 ...

The Polar Music Prize stands with Ukraine

March 2, 2022 Dear fellow supporters and friends of the Polar Music Prize, We need to stress that the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine is unacceptable and a severe violation of international law. We, the Polar Music Prize, condemn this most robustly. We ...

Iggy Pop & Ensemble intercontemporain are the Laureates of the Polar Music Prize 2022

Iggy Pop, born James Newell Osterberg, the legendary godfather of punk, and Ensemble intercontemporain, the world’s leading contemporary music ensemble, are today announced as the recipients of the 2022 Polar Music Prize.

Press review

NME (UK) – February 8, 2022

Iggy Pop to receive this year's Polar Music Prize: "I'm honoured"

Rolling Stone Magazine – February 8, 2022

‘There is No One Else Quite Like Him’: Iggy Pop to Receive 2022 Polar Music Prize

The Independent (UK) – February 8, 2022

Iggy Pop, Ensemble intercontemporain win Polar Music Prize

The Washington Post (US) – February 8, 2022

Iggy Pop, Ensemble intercontemporain win Polar Music Prize

Dagens Nyheter (SWE) – February 8, 2022

Polarpriset till Iggy Pop och fransk solistensemble

Sveriges Radio (SWE) – February 8, 2022

Polarprisvinnande Ensemble Intercontemporain – för ut samtida musik

TV4 Nyhetsmorgon (SWE) – February 8, 2022

Punkikonen tilldelas Polarpriset: ”Iggy Pop är fantastisk”

Variety – February 8, 2022

Iggy Pop, Ensemble intercontemporain to be awarded Polar Music Prize

SVT Morgonstudion – February 8, 2022

Årets Polarprisvinnare, intervju med Alfons Karabuda

Helsingborgs Dagblad – February 8, 2022

En ensemble som gjord för tonsättare i motvind

Seattle Times (US) – February 8, 2022

Iggy Pop, Ensemble Intercontemporain win Polar Music Prize

SVT (SWE) – February 8, 2022

Hans karriär är ett stridsrop emot det välanpassade samhället.

Polar Music Prize Logotypes

Ensemble intercontemporain


Maria Stern

Press Contact – Sweden
+46 (0)70 571 04 17

Claire Singers

Press contact – International

Karen McNamara

Press contact – International

Marie Ledin

Managing Director
Stiftelsen Stikkan Andersons Musikprisfond för The Polar Music Prize

Alfons Karabuda

Chairman of the Polar Music Prize 
Award Committee

Postal Address

Polar Music Prize
PO Box 55777

Visiting address: Banérgatan 16

Social Media