March 5, 2021

Due to the current situation caused by Covid-19, the Polar Music Prize Board has decided to cancel the planned award ceremony for the 2020 Laureates – Diane Warren and Anna Netrebko – which was to be held on May 22 this year. We will of course continue to celebrate these deserving Laureates and honour them in different ways and on various occasions throughout the year.

The safety of Laureates, our guests, artists, musicians, and all staff involved in the Polar Music Prize is our top priority, and naturally we comply with current recommendations. The pandemic has affected us on all levels, personally and professionally. It prompted our decision to cancel this year’s award ceremony and banquet and resulted in our deciding not to nominate any new Laureates in 2021.

We are currently putting the finishing touches to plans for next year’s Laureates announcement and the 2022 prize ceremony and banquet. Laureates will be announced in February 2022.

Recommend this story!