The Polar Music Prize gala award ceremony takes place at Konserthuset Stockholm on June 15, where the 2017 Laureates Sting and Wayne Shorter will be presented with The Polar Music Prize by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden.

The citation for Wayne Shorter will be read by the Grammy award winner and jazz musician Esperanza Spalding and the citation for Sting will be presented by worldwide acclaimed guitarist and singer José Feliciano, who will also perform live at the ceremony.


Both the gala award ceremony and the  banquet will feature exclusive live performances by great Swedish and international artists and musicians. The performers will honour the 2017 Laureates with their own interpretations drawn from the wide-ranging repertoires of Sting and Wayne Shorter.

The impressive line-up at Konserthuset Stockholm includes Gregory Porter, Ane Brun, Jennie Abrahamson, The Tallest Man On Earth, Linnea Olsson, Josefin Runsteen, and saxophone players Lennart Åberg, Fredrik Ljungkvist and Marius Neset. José Feliciano will also perform live as well as reading one of the citations.

The performances will be accompanied by The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra led by maestro Hans Ek and a band led by Robert Elovsson.

Host for the ceremony is Swedish mezzo soprano and music journalist Boel Adler.

A glittering banquet at the Grand Hôtel will as always follow the ceremony, where the music tributes to Sting and Wayne Shorter will continue. Performing at the banquet are Eva Dahlgren, Petra Marklund, Esperanza Spalding, Nils Landgren and Gregory Porter. Conductor Markus Jägerstedt and his band will accompany the performances on the Grand Hôtel stage in Vinterträdgården.

The direct broadcast of the ceremony on TV4 Play starts at 4.15 pm from Konserthuset Stockholm and the banquet at Grand Hotel goes live on TV4 at 8 pm on June 15. Hosts of the TV broadcast are Tilde de Paula Eby and Jesper Börjesson. 

Follow us on social media for regular updates from now until The Polar Music Prize celebration day on Thursday, June 15.

Recommend this story!